Isaac Ratcliffe and Dmitri Samorukov invited to 2017 NHL Scouting Combine


22 OHL players have been invited to the 2017 NHL Scouting Combine that is being held from Monday May 29th to Saturday June 3rd at First Niagara Center and the nearby HarborCenter in Buffalo, NY.

The list of OHL invitees includes 16 forwards, five defencemen and one goaltender. OHL talent represents 21% of the 104 players invited to attend the event.

Mastercard Memorial Cup champion Gabriel Vilardi leads OHL players into the event. Vilardi was the third ranked North American skater on NHL Central Scouting’s Final Rankings released in mid-April. Spitfires teammate Michael DiPietro is the lone OHL goaltender attending the combine.

Other top prospects include Mississauga Steelheads teammates Owen Tippett (7th ranked) and Nicolas Hague (20th ranked) as well as Owen Sound Attack centreman Nick Suzuki (10th ranked), Kingston Frontenacs winger Jason Robertson (14th ranked) and Guelph Storm flank Isaac Ratcliffe (15th ranked).

The Kingston Frontenacs lead the way with three players attending the combine while 13 of the OHL’s 20 member teams are represented at the event.

The NHL Scouting Combine provides an opportunity for teams to meet and interview prospects as well as see them physically tested in an off-ice setting.

The highly-anticipated portion of the combine – fitness testing – is set to take place Friday and Saturday at the HarborCenter in Buffalo. Saturday’s fitness testing can be seen live on from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. ET/ 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. MT.

Friday’s testing will feature four different evaluations, including y-balance, function movement screen, grip strength and aerobic fitness (VO2 max).

Saturday’s testing will feature seven different evaluations, including standing height, wingspan, standing long jump, jump station, bench press, pro agility test and pull ups.



Forwards (16):
Sasha Chmelevski (Ottawa 67’s)
MacKenzie Entwistle (Hamilton Bulldogs)
Alex Formenton (London Knights)
Morgan Frost (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Jonah Gadjovich (Owen Sound Attack)
Zach Gallant (Peterborough Petes)
Ivan Lodnia (Erie Otters)
Isaac Ratcliffe (Guelph Storm)
Jason Robertson (Kingston Frontenacs)
Adam Ruzicka (Sarnia Sting)
Matthew Strome (Hamilton Bulldogs)
Jack Studnicka (Oshawa Generals)
Nick Suzuki (Owen Sound Attack)
Robert Thomas (London Knights)
Owen Tippett (Mississauga Steelheads)
Gabriel Vilardi (Windsor Spitfires)

Defencemen (5):
Nicolas Hague (Mississauga Steelheads)
Jacob Paquette (Kingston Frontenacs)
Eemeli Rasanen (Kingston Frontenacs)
Dmitri Samorukov (Guelph Storm)
Conor Timmins (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Goaltenders (1):
Michael DiPietro (Windsor Spitfires)

More News
CHL Stars We’ll Miss: OHL’s Western Conference
10 hours ago
CHL announces partnership with Adept Mobile to create best-in-class Mobile App experience
6 days ago
#StormCupTour visits two-time OHL champion Jack Hanley
6 days ago
Burnett finalizes 2019-20 coaching staff
2 weeks ago
OHL Announces 2019 Exhibition Game Schedule
2 weeks ago
Thank you, Zach.
3 weeks ago