Tag Bertuzzi chosen to represent Canada at the 2017 World Under 17 Hockey Challenge

Aaron Bell/OHL Images

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada announced its 66-player roster selected to represent Canada at the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, Nov. 5-11 in Dawson Creek and Fort St. John, B.C.

The 66 players will be divided into three teams representing Team Canada Black, Team Canada Red, and Team Canada White when they compete against the Czech Republic, Finland, Russia, Sweden, and the United States in their quest for a gold medal.

CHL Players on Canadian Teams:

Luke Cavallin (Flint Firebirds)
Taylor Gauthier (Prince George Cougars)
Jonathan Lemieux (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

Justin Barron (Halifax Mooseheads)
Jaxon Bellamy (Moncton Wildcats)
Evan Brand (Kingston Frontenacs)
Mitchell Brewer (Oshawa Generals)
Bowen Byram (Vancouver Giants)
Maxence Guenette (Val-d’Or Foreurs)
Thomas Harley (Mississauga Steelheads)
Christopher Inniss (Rimouski Oceanic)
Colton Kammerer (Sarnia Sting)
Kaedan Korczak (Kelowna Rockets)
Noah Laaouan (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)
Jake Lee (Seattle Thunderbirds)
Christopher Merisier-Ortiz (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)
Rhett Rhinehart (Prince Albert Raiders)
Matthew Robertson (Edmonton Oil Kings)
Braden Schneider (Brandon Wheat Kings)
Nathan Staios (Windsor Spitfires)
Jackson va de Leest (Calgary Hitmen)

Logan Barlage (Swift Current Broncos)
Alex Beaucage (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Tag Bertuzzi (Guelph Storm)
Connor Bouchard (Tri-City Americans)
Joe Carroll (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Graeme Clarke (Ottawa 67’s)
Brandon Coe (North Bay Battalion)
Dylan Cozens (Lethbridge Hurricanes)
Kirby Dach (Saskatoon Blades)
Hayden Fowler (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Ethan Keppen (Flint Firebirds)
Peyton Krebs (Kootenay ICE)
Alexis Lafreniere (Rimouski Oceanic)
Nathan Legare (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)
Connor McMichael (Hamilton Bulldogs)
Dawson Mercer (Drummondville Voltigeurs)
Cody Morgan (Kingston Frontenacs)
Blake Murray (Sudbury Wolves)
Sasha Mutala (Tri-City Americans)
Xavier Parent (Halifax Mooseheads)
Bailey Peach (Sherbrooke Phoenix)
Jakob Pelletier (Moncton Wildcats)
Nicholas Porco (Saginaw Spirit)
Samuel Poulin (Sherbrooke Phoenix)
Aidan Prueter (Saginaw Spirit)
Jamieson Rees (Sarnia Sting)
Mitchell Russell (Owen Sound Attack)
Xavier Simoneau (Drummondville Voltigeurs)
Ryan Suzuki (Barrie Colts)
Philip Tomasino (Niagara IceDogs)
Keean Washkurak (Mississauga Steelheads)
Josh Williams (Medicine Hat Tigers)
Nick Wong (Oshawa Generals)

In July, 111 players were invited to the week-long national under-17 development camp, marking the first step in Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence. The players chosen to compete at the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge were selected by Brad McEwen (Whitewood, Sask.), Hockey Canada’s head scout, in consultation with U17 POE management group lead Steve Staios (Hamilton, Ont./Hamilton, OHL), along with regional scouts Carl Bouchard (Quebec), Barclay Branch (Ontario), Barclay Parneta (West), Kevin Mitchell (Atlantic), and Darrell Woodley (Ontario).

“There is a strong, talented, and skilled group of players to choose from and we feel the 66 we have selected are a great representation of the depth of Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence,” said McEwen. “These young men have demonstrated an ability to learn, grow, and develop while giving Canada the best chance at bringing home gold on Canadian ice.”

The tournament opens Nov. 5 at the Encana Events Centre in an all-Canadian affair as last year’s silver-medallist, Team Canada Black, takes on Team Canada White at 2:30 p.m. MT (4:30 p.m. ET). The opening day concludes with Sweden facing Russia at North Peace Arena in Fort St. John.

TSN and RDS, the official broadcasters for Hockey Canada, will air one semifinal and the bronze- and gold-medal games; please check local listings for details.

Tickets are now on sale with a number of ticketing options for fans in both venues, including a Team Canada package. Fans can take advantage of the best ticketing option by purchasing the full-tournament package, which includes all 14 games at the Encana Events Centre in Dawson Creek, or all 12 games at the North Peace Arena in Fort St. John.

More than 1,600 NHL draft picks have suited up since the inception of the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge in 1986 (previously known as the Quebec Esso Cup), including 13 of the last 16 first-overall draft picks (Ilya Kovalchuk, 2001; Rick Nash, 2002; Marc-André Fleury, 2003; Alexander Ovechkin, 2004; Erik Johnson, 2006, Patrick Kane, 2007; John Tavares, 2009; Taylor Hall, 2010, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, 2011; Nathan MacKinnon, 2013; Aaron Ekblad, 2014; Connor McDavid, 2015 and Auston Matthews, 2016).

For more information on the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, please visit or follow along via social media on Facebook and Twitter.

For further information please contact:

Lisa Dornan                                                  Esther Madziya

Director, Communications                        Coordinator, Media Relations

Hockey Canada                                            Hockey Canada

403.510.7046                                                403.519.5754                        

More News
Storm represented in 10 different categories in 2018-19 OHL Coaches Poll Winners
17 hours ago
6 OHL grads win U SPORTS national title with UNB Reds
19 hours ago
Janes Saves of the Week – March 19, 2019
19 hours ago
Storm hand out 2018-19 hardware on Monday night
2 days ago
Playoff Fan Fest, March 22nd from 4pm-7pm
3 days ago
Storm's Ratcliffe records fifth 50-goal season in franchise history
3 days ago