Former Storm win Calder Cup with Monarchs

Three former Storm players and assistant coach Chris Hajt are Calder Cup Champions with the Manchester Monarchs.

Justin Auger, Ryan Horvat, Nick Ebert and Hajt are champions two years in a row after winning the J. Ross Robertson Cup as OHL Champions with the Storm in 2014.


The Monarchs claimed their first Calder Cup title in franchise history with a 4-1 series victory over the Utica Comets, the AHL affiliate of the Vancouver Canucks.

Manchester took Game 5 of the series by a score of 2-1 at the Utica Memorial Auditorium on Saturday night.

The championship caps off a memorable season in Monarchs franchise history as the club won the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy with the best regular season record in the AHL at 50-17-6-3. 

Manchester eliminated Portland, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton and Hartford before besting Utica, a club that also featured nine OHL graduates on their roster.

The Monarchs will move to Ontario, CA to begin the 2015-16 as the Ontario Reign while Ontario’s ECHL franchise transfers to Manchester, NH. 

The Monarchs become the first team since the New Brunswick Hawks in 1982 to win the Calder Cup in their last game of existence.

Manchester Monarchs OHL graduates (9):

Justin Auger (Guelph, 2011-14)
Paul Bissonnette (North Bay/Saginaw/Owen Sound, 2001-05)
Andrew Crescenzi (Kitchener, 2009-12)
Nick Ebert (Windsor/Guelph, 2010-14)
Josh Gratton (Sudbury/Kingston/Windsor, 2000-03)
Ryan Horvat (Guelph, 2009-14)
Colin Miller (Sault Ste. Marie, 2010-13)
Kevin Raine (London/Sudbury, 2010-14)
Scott Sabourin (Oshawa, 2009-13)


More News
Storm earn third straight in 3-1 win over Spitfires
15 hours ago
Top Prospects gearing up for Guelph
2 days ago
Game Preview: Storm vs. Spitfires January 19th
2 days ago
Merkley named Assistant Captain for Sherwin-Williams CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game
3 days ago
Janes Saves of the Week – January 16, 2018
4 days ago
Wawanesa OHL Plays of the Week: January 17, 2018
4 days ago