2019-20 Most Improved Player

Past Guelph Storm Most Improved Player winners include current and former NHLers like Todd Bertuzzi, Ruman Ndur, Daniel Girardi and Robby Fabbri. Three years ago Isaac Ratcliffe won and most recently Cedric Ralph and Keegan Stevenson, earned the award.

This year’s Most Improved Player has arguably one of the greatest stories in Storm history. Playing back up to Anthony Popovich for two years, he earned the number one position to start the 2019-20 season. Between October 23 – December 6, he had a record of 12-1-0-1 that lifted the Storm to first place in the Midwest Divison at the Christmas break and earned him a spot as Canada’s starting goalie at the World Junior Hockey Championships in the Czech Republic.  Finishing the year atop the league with 5 shutouts and a 0.924 save percentage, his 2.48 goals against average placed third. He is currently ranked 1st overall for all North American Goaltenders at the upcoming NHL draft.

This year’s Most Improved Player is goaltender, Nico Daws.

Congratulations Nico!

More News
Kia Alumni Spotlight: Garrett McFadden
17 hours ago
OHL Announces Key Dates for 2020-21 Season
2 days ago
Meet the Future: Nico Daws
2 weeks ago
They Wore it Best
3 weeks ago
Who Wore it Best #30?
3 weeks ago
Who Wore it Best #29?
3 weeks ago