2022 Guelph Storm Awards – Roger Neilson Memorial Award

This year’s recipient of the Roger Neilson Memorial Award is Sasha Pastujov. Congratulations Sasha!

The Roger Neilson Memorial Award is awarded annually to the team’s top academic player in post-secondary studies. The award was first given out in 2005 and is named in honour of Hockey Hall of Fame coach Roger Neilson, a former high school teacher and coach of the Peterborough Petes.

Presented for the past 12 seasons, the OHL’s Roger Neilson Memorial Award has been claimed by Guelph Storm players three times in the last eight years: Tim Priamo in 2009; Kyle Pereira in 2012; and Justin Nichols in 2015. The 2014 recipient was former Storm forward Patrick Watling, then with the Greyhounds.

Sasha took classes virtually at the University of Florida in his first season with the Guelph Storm. Over the course of the season, he was enrolled in Written Communication, Principles of Economics, Population Geography, and Nutrition. Sasha completed his coursework with an 89% average.

More News
2022 World Juniors Daily: Aug. 14
13 hours ago
OHL Classics: Jeff O'Neill
1 day ago
24 Past and Present OHL Players Competing at 2022 World Junior Hockey Championship
5 days ago
10 CHL players to watch at the 2022 World Juniors
5 days ago
Pastujov named to U.S. National Junior Team
6 days ago
2022-23 Individual Tickets on Sale NOW!
7 days ago