6 Storm Players Included on NHL Central Scouting ‘Players to Watch’ List for October

Ontario Hockey League

Toronto, Ont. – The Ontario Hockey League is proud to announce that 66 OHL players have been included on NHL Central Scouting’s October ‘Players to Watch’ List for the 2022 NHL Draft scheduled to take place July 7-8 in Montreal, Quebec.

Forwards Shane Wright of the Kingston Frontenacs and Matthew Poitras of the Guelph Storm each received ‘A’ ratings indicating a potential first round selection.

The OHL’s Rookie of the Year in 2019-20, Wright has recorded six points (2-4–6) through his first five games of the 2021-22 season. The 17-year-old Frontenacs captain played a key role in Canada’s gold medal at the 2021 IIHF World Under-18 Hockey Championship in Frisco, Texas this past May.

Poitras was the 12th overall pick of the 2020 OHL Priority Selection from the Whitby Wildcats U16 program. The 17-year-old centreman has four points (3-1–4) through his first four OHL contests.

An additional 21 players were assigned ‘B’ ratings indicating a potential second or third round selection while 43, including five goaltenders, received ‘C’ designations indicating a potential fourth, fifth or sixth round candidate.

All 20 OHL member teams were represented on the list led by the London Knights with eight players included. The Guelph Storm and Sudbury Wolves trailed with six players respectively while the Niagara IceDogs and North Bay Battalion each had five.

The list includes 45 OHL forwards, 16 defencemen and five goaltenders.

2021 NHL Central Scouting October Players to Watch List – OHL

Players have been identified using the following criteria:

• A Rating – Indicates a first round candidate
• B Rating – Indicates a second or third round candidate
• C Rating – Indicates a fourth/fifth/sixth round candidate

A Matthew Poitras RC Guelph Storm
A Shane Wright RC Kingston Frontenacs
B Liam Arnsby RC North Bay Battalion
B Owen Beck RC Mississauga Steelheads
B Michael Buchinger LD Guelph Storm
B Aidan Castle LW Niagara IceDogs
B Jorian Donovan LD Hamilton Bulldogs
B Jackson Edward LD London Knights
B Pano Fimis RC Niagara IceDogs
B David Goyette LC Sudbury Wolves
B Cedrick Guindon LC Owen Sound Attack
B Hunter Haight RC Barrie Colts
B Gavin Hayes RW Flint Firebirds
B Jake Karabela LC Guelph Storm
B Zakary Lavoie RW Mississauga Steelheads
B Paul Ludwinski LW Kingston Frontenacs
B Bryce McConnell-Barker LC Soo Greyhounds
B Pavel Mintyukov LD Saginaw Spirit
B Ty Nelson RD North Bay Battalion
B Vinzenz Rohrer RW Ottawa 67’s
B Matyas Sapovaliv LC Saginaw Spirit
B Spencer Sova LD Erie Otters
B Danny Zhilkin LC Guelph Storm
C Ryan Abraham LC Windsor Spitfires
C Sam Alfano RW Peterborough Petes
C Andre Anania LD Sudbury Wolves
C Braeden Bowman RW Guelph Storm
C Brett Brochu G London Knights
C Gavin Bryant LC Owen Sound Attack
C Ben Bujold LC London Knights
C Brice Cooke LW Niagara IceDogs
C Brody Crane LW London Knights
C Nick DeGrazia LW Sudbury Wolves
C Luca Del Bel Belluz LC Mississauga Steelheads
C Kocha Delic LC Sudbury Wolves
C Justin DeZoete RW Peterborough Petes
C Rodwin Dionicio LD Niagara IceDogs
C Domenic DiVincentiis G North Bay Battalion
C Zach Filak LC Sarnia Sting
C Jacob Frasca RC Barrie Colts
C Isaiah George LD London Knights
C Beau Jelsma LC Barrie Colts
C Evan Konyen RW Sudbury Wolves
C Kirill Kudryavtsev LD Soo Greyhounds
C Artem Kulakov LD Erie Otters
C Nolan Lalonde G Erie Otters
C Ethan Larmand LC Sudbury Wolves
C Andrew LeBlanc LC Kitchener Rangers
C Jacob LeBlanc RD Kitchener Rangers
C Alec Leonard RD Niagara IceDogs
C Tnias Mathurin LD North Bay Battalion
C Jonathan Melee LC Hamilton Bulldogs
C Daniel Michaud LC Oshawa Generals
C Max Namestnikov LC Sarnia Sting
C Cedricson Okitundu LD Owen Sound Attack
C Jacob Oster G Guelph Storm
C Servac Petrovsky LC Owen Sound Attack
C Tucker Robertson RC Peterborough Petes
C Stuart Rolofs LW London Knights
C Teddy Sawyer LD Ottawa 67’s
C Charlie Schenkel G Soo Greyhounds
C Landon Sim LW London Knights
C Colton Smith LW London Knights
C Brady Stonehouse RW Ottawa 67’s
C Zander Veccia RW Mississauga Steelheads
C Dalyn Wakely RC North Bay Battalion

For the complete list, visit

More News
Guelph Storm Summer Series
3 hours ago
Storm's Walker signs AHL contract with Abbotsford
2 weeks ago
Rylan Singh commits to Storm
2 weeks ago
Parker Snelgrove and Wil McFadden commit to Storm
2 weeks ago
Storm Orientation Camp this weekend
3 weeks ago
2023 CHL Import Draft
3 weeks ago