Ratcliffe named Storm MVP

The Guelph Storm wrapped up another season in the Royal City on Sunday afternoon with the annual regular season wrap-up banquet.

 Hosted by the voice of the Storm and CJOY’s own Larry Mellott, the team presented the annual awards during the event that was attended by over 200 guests.

The afternoon ended with the presentation of the Glad Mowatt Most Valuable Player Award to forward Isaac Ratcliffe. The London native was one the most consistent Storm players this season. Ratcliffe had a strong campaign recording 68 points while setting a career high in goals with 41.

It was a busy afternoon for Ratcliffe, as he was also named the recipient of the Fay Scott Memorial Award and the Top Scorer Award.

Captain Garrett McFadden and Cedric Ralph were also big winners on the afternoon. McFadden claimed the Mike Kelly Humanitarian Award, Top Defenceman Award and the Leadership Award. While Ralph took home the Fan Club’s ‘Most Popular Player’ Award, Roger Neilson Memorial Award and was a co-winner along with goaltender Anthony Popovich for the Most Improved Player Award.

2017-18 Guelph Storm Award Winners

Top Scorer Award… Isaac Ratcliffe

Owens Corning “Tony Cammilleri Memorial” Playmaker Award… Ryan Merkley

Fan Club “Most Popular Player” Award… Cedric Ralph

Ivan Tennant Memorial (Top Academic Attending High School)… Mason Primeau

Paul Fendley Memorial Award (Storm’s nominee for the league’s Bobby Smith Award)… Owen Lalonde

Roger Neilson Memorial Award (Top Academic Attending College or University)… Cedric Ralph

Mike Kelly Humanitarian Award (Commitment to the Team and the Community)… Garrett McFadden

Fay Scott Memorial Award (Outstanding Commitment to Education and Community)… Isaac Ratcliffe

Most Improved Player… Anthony Popovich and Cedric Ralph

Top Defenceman Award… Garrett McFadden

Wellington Motors Rookie of the Year Award… Cam Hillis

Leadership Award (in memory of Jason Peaire)… Garrett McFadden

Glad Mowatt Most Valuable Player… Isaac Ratcliffe

Stay connected with us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram, for future updates!

The 2017-18 Season is proudly presented by RBC

More News
Danny Zhilkin First Career Goal
5 hours ago
Storm raise 2019 OHL Championship banner
5 hours ago
Leaner Nico Daws ready to seize the opportunity in Guelph Storm net
2 days ago
OHL 20 in 20 Season Preview: Guelph Storm
2 days ago
Home Opener - Game Preview: Ottawa 67's vs. Guelph Storm
3 days ago
Storm acquire picks from Rangers in exchange for Liam Hawel
5 days ago