Former Storm forwards among AHL All-Stars

The 2013 American Hockey League All-Star Classic takes place January 27-28 in Providence, Rhode Island, and features 26 Canadian Hockey League graduates.

The 26 former CHL players account for over 50% off all players competing in the game and includes six rookies that finished their CHL careers last season.  A total of three Guelph Storm graduates are among the players including Peter Holland,  Martin St. Pierre and Richard Panik (pictured).

The rookies include a pair of former Ottawa 67’s including two-time 50-goal scorer Tyler Toffoli of the Manchester Monarchs, and 2012 World Junior Top Goalie Petr Mrazek of the Grand Rapids Griffins.  Former Canadian National Junior Team members Brendan Gallagher of the Vancouver Giants, and Jamie Oleksiak of the Niagara IceDogs also got off to great starts in their pro careers with the Hamilton Bulldogs and Texas Stars respectively.  The recent CHL grad list also includes a pair of Lake Erie Monsters’ forwards Andrew Agozzino who starred five seasons with the Niagara IceDogs, and Mike Sgarbossa who won the OHL scoring title last season as a member of the Sudbury Wolves.

In his second season in the AHL, Panik has 18 goals in 37 games (tied for 6th in the AHL), while St. Pierre and Holland each lead their respective clubs in scoring this year.

CHL grads in 2013 AHL All-Star Classic:



Barry Brust, Abbotsford Heat (Calgary / Spokane 2000-04)

Robin Lehner, Binghamton Senators (Sault Ste. Marie 2009-10)

Petr Mrazek, Grand Rapids Griffins (Ottawa 2009-12)

Justin Peters, Charlotte Checkers (Toronto / Plymouth 2002-06)



Mark Barberio, Syracuse Crunch (Cape Breton / Moncton 2006-10)

Victor Bartley, Milwaukee Admirals (Kamloops / Regina 2004-09)

Andre Benoit, Binghamton Senators (Kitchener 2000-05)

Mark Cundari, Peoria Rivermen (Windsor 2006-10)

Michal Jordan, Charlotte Checkers (Windsor / Plymouth 2007-10)

Brayden McNabb, Rochester Americans (Kootenay 2006-11)

Jamie Oleksiak, Texas Stars (Saginaw / Niagara 2011-12)



Andrew Agozzino, Lake Erie Monsters (Niagara IceDogs 2007-12)

Jonathan Audy-Marchessault, Springfield Falcons (Quebec 2007-11)

Alexandre Bolduc, Portland Pirates (Rouyn-Noranda / Shawinigan 2001-05)

Matt Fraser, Texas Stars (Kootenay 2007-10)

Brendan Gallagher, Hamilton Bulldogs (Vancouver 2008-12)

Ryan Hamilton, Toronto Marlies (Barrie 2002-06)

Peter Holland, Norfolk Admirals (Guelph 2007-11)

Tyler Johnson, Syracuse Crunch (Spokane 2007-11)

Quintin Laing, Abbotsford Heat (Kelowna 1996-2000)

Nino Niederreiter, Bridgeport Sound Tigers (Portland 2009-11)

Richard Panik, Syracuse Crunch (Windsor / Belleville / Guelph 2009-11)

Martin St. Pierre, Rockford IceHogs (Guelph 2000-04)

Mike Sgarbossa, Lake Erie Monsters (Barrie / Saginaw / Sudbury 2008-12)

Tyler Toffoli, Manchester Monarchs (Ottawa 2008-12)

Trent Whitfield, Providence Bruins (Spokane 1994-98)

More News
Storm acquire forward Eric Uba from Flint for picks
3 days ago
#StormCupTour visits Ayr's Ben McFarlane
4 days ago
Fantastic Five: Top Shorthanded Goals of 2018-19
4 days ago
Canada falls to Russia in Hlinka Gretzky Cup Final
1 week ago
#StormCupTour visits Phillips, Roberts and Collins
2 weeks ago
#StormCupTour visits Canada's capital
3 weeks ago