Panik and Slovakia open tourney with win

Playing in his third World Junior Ice Hockey Championship, Storm forward Richard Panik and Team Slovakia opened the tournament with a 2-1 win over Germany.  Panik opened the scoring only eight seconds into the second period with a wristshot over the right shoulder of Philipp Grubauer (Kingston Frontenacs). In overtime, Panik assisted on Marek Hrivik’s winning goal.

Team Slovakia will have a tough test as they look to improve their mark to 2-0 on Wednesday night against Team USA in Buffalo. 

As a 17 year old at his first World Juniors, Panik recorded five points in seven games (2 goals and 3 assists). Last year the 18 year old led his team in goals (6) and points (8) and was named one of the best players on the team in the tournament’s coaches poll.


The Guelph Storm organization has a proud history of Storm players representing their countries at the World Junior Hockey Championship.

Now in their 17th season, current, or former Guelph Storm players participated in the World Junior Hockey Championship on twenty-two occasions capturing eight Gold Medals, five Silver Medals and one Bronze Medal.

Guelph Storm Participation in the World Junior Hockey Championship

Jeff Bes           1993     Gold Medal
Jeff O’Neill       1995     Gold Medal
Jamie Wright    1996     Gold Medal
Dwayne Hay      1997     Gold Medal
Chris Hajt         1997     Silver Medal
Brian Willsie       1998        8th
Manny Malhotra  1998     8th
Chris Hajt           1998     5th
Kent McDonell     1999     Silver Medal
Chris Madden     1999     8th
Manny Malhotra  2000     Bronze Medal
Dustin Brown     2002     5th
Dwight LaBrosse 2002     5th
Fedor Tjutin       2002     Gold Medal
Daniel Paille      2003     Silver Medal
Fedor Tjutin       2003     Gold Medal
Daniel Paille      2004      Silver Medal
Kevin Klein        2004      Silver Medal
Jakub Koreis      2004      4th
Ryan Callahan   2005     4th
Ryan Parent      2006      Gold Medal
Ryan Parent      2007      Gold Medal
Drew Doughty    2008      Gold Medal
Drew Doughty    2009      Gold Medal

More News
2018-19 OHL Champions and Top Storm Team of All Time “Stole the Show”
3 days ago
2018-19 OHL Champs named Top Storm Team of All Time
3 days ago
Ashley HomeStore Highlight Reel: Cam Hillis
3 days ago
Top Storm Team Challenge - The Finals -2003-04 vs. 2018-19
4 days ago
Top Storm Team Challenge 2003-04 vs. 1997-98
1 week ago
Top Storm Team Challenge Semi-Finals - 2013-14 vs. 2018-19
2 weeks ago