Panik scores two in Slovak loss

Richard Panik and Slovakia wrapped up their 2011 World Junior Championship schedule on Tuesday with a 5-2 loss versus the Czech Republic.  With the loss, Slovakia finished eighth in the event with a record of 2-4-0 (including one overtime win) and retains a spot in the 2012 event to be held in Alberta.

Panik capped off a terrific tournament by scoring both of Slovakia’s goals in the loss.  With only the Gold and Bronze Medal games remaining, Panik sits second in tournament scoring with 7 goals and 2 assists for 9 points.  Named captain of his national team, Panik definitely led the Slovaks offensively in the tournament as he scored exactly half of his team’s 14 goals and scored, or assisted on 64% of his club’s tallies.

The 2011 tournament marked Panik’s third appearance at the IIHF World Junior Hockey Championship.  As a 17 year old at his first World Juniors, Panik recorded five points in seven games (2 goals and 3 assists). Last year the 18 year old led his team in goals (6) and points (8) and was named one of the best players on the team in the tournament’s coaches poll.  In three events, the Storm forward collected 22 points in 19 games.

The Guelph Storm will honour Panik for his participation at the 2011 tournament before our next home game on Friday, January 7th versus the Plymouth Whalers.  The team will also recognize a pair of Whalers that are participating in the event with Rickard Rakell and Dario Trutmann representing Sweden and Switzerland respectively.  Also before the game, World Under-17 Hockey Challenge participants Matt Finn and Thomas Wilson (Plymouth) competing at the prestigious event.

The Guelph Storm organization has a proud history of Storm players representing their countries at the World Junior Hockey Championship.

Now in their 17th season, current, or former Guelph Storm players participated in the World Junior Hockey Championship on twenty-two occasions capturing eight Gold Medals, five Silver Medals and one Bronze Medal.

Guelph Storm Participation in the World Junior Hockey Championship

Jeff Bes           1993     Gold Medal
Jeff O’Neill       1995     Gold Medal
Jamie Wright    1996     Gold Medal
Dwayne Hay      1997     Gold Medal
Chris Hajt         1997     Silver Medal
Brian Willsie       1998        8th
Manny Malhotra  1998     8th
Chris Hajt           1998     5th
Kent McDonell     1999     Silver Medal
Chris Madden     1999     8th
Manny Malhotra  2000     Bronze Medal
Dustin Brown     2002     5th
Dwight LaBrosse 2002     5th
Fedor Tjutin       2002     Gold Medal
Daniel Paille      2003     Silver Medal
Fedor Tjutin       2003     Gold Medal
Daniel Paille      2004      Silver Medal
Kevin Klein        2004      Silver Medal
Jakub Koreis      2004      4th
Ryan Callahan   2005     4th
Ryan Parent      2006      Gold Medal
Ryan Parent      2007      Gold Medal
Drew Doughty    2008      Gold Medal
Drew Doughty    2009      Gold Medal

More News
Storm mourn the loss of Adam Comrie
16 hours ago
Who Wore it Best #8
19 hours ago
Who Wore it Best #7
2 days ago
Who Wore it Best #6
3 days ago
Who Wore it Best #5
4 days ago
OHL Announces Return to Play Plans
4 days ago