Sparks and Pereira win academic awards

The Guelph Storm honoured defencamen Kyle Pereira and rookie goaltender Garrett Sparks with a couple of academic awards before the fourth game of the Western Conference Quarterfinals against the Saginaw Spirit last Thursday night.

Presenting the awards for the Guelph Storm’s nominees for the Roger Neilson Academic Award and the Ivan Tennant Memorial Award were Storm Tracker’s President, Annette Montgomery, Donna Rawbone and Shari Dorr, Education Consultants for the Guelph Storm. The OHL’s academic honors, The Roger Neilson Academic Award and the Ivan Tennant Memorial Award, are presented yearly to players based entirely on academic achievement.

The Storm’s 2010/11 nominee for the OHL’s Roger Neilson Academic Award, given each season to the top student in a post-secondary school program is Kyle Pereira. The Storm’s third year forward had the top academic marks as a university student and received $200.00 from the Storm Trackers Booster Club for his successful year.

Guelph also announced their nominees for the 2010/11 Ivan Tennant Memorial Award as top high school student and the Paul Fendley Memorial Student Acheievement Award (Bobby Smith Award) before Game Four. Rookie goaltender Garrett Sparks was awarded with both awards, excelling in his high school courses, the Elmhurst native was presented with a $200.00 cheque from the Guelph Storm Trackers Fan Club for winning the Ivant Tennant Memorial Award and two $2,000 entrance scholarships to his chosen university for representing the Storm as the nominee for the Bobby Smith Scholastic Player of the Year.

More than 97% of the players currently playing in the Ontario Hockey League are attending high school or post-secondary institutions. More than 400 OHL graduates are currently attending Canadian universities and colleges on scholarships from their OHL teams.
The Guelph Storm Hockey Club has a proud tradition of academic excellence. Following each Ontario Hockey League Season, the OHL selects one player from all team nominees as the OHL Scholastic Player of the Year and presents the Bobby Smith Trophy. In the Guelph Storm’s fourteen-year history, a player from the organization has been honoured with the Bobby Smith Trophy a remarkable five times.

More News
NHL Draft Prospect Profile: Nico Daws
3 days ago
OHL Prospect Primer: Goaltenders with Mike Morreale
7 days ago
OHL Memory Minute: Sept. 19-22, 2019
1 week ago
Storm graduate Nick Suzuki named to NHL All-Rookie Team
1 week ago
First playoff goal a 'huge relief' for hard-working Dickinson
1 week ago
Storm graduate Jason Dickinson playing for Stanley Cup
1 week ago