Winmar Community Hero

The Guelph Storm and Winmar announced that Ryan Horvat is the winner of The Winamar Community Hero Award. The 19 year old Storm forward accepted this award prior to the home game on Wednesday night versus the Kitchener Rangers.

On hand to make the presentation at Wednesday’s game was KidsAbility Ambassador Owen Pastorius and Darrin Drake Customer Care Manager from Winmar.

Each season Winmar is proud to recognize one Guelph Storm player for his outstanding community involvement with The Winmar Community Hero Award. Ryan Horvat was selected to be the recipient after volunteering more than 100 hours this season, demonstrating a strong commitment to his community.

Ryan was instrumental this season in the continued development and success of the Guelph Storm’s Fun Fit program. The Storm forward visited elementary schools several times each week delivering positive messages about the importance of physical activity, education, involvement in the community, taking advantage of all possible opportunities, respect, excellence and anti-bullying.

Past winners of The Co-operators Community Hero Award…

1998-99 Chris Madden
1999-00 Ian Forbes
2000-01 Morgan McCormick
2001-02 Morgan McCormick
2002-03 Andrew Archer
2003-04 Michael Okrzesik
2004-05 Ryan Card
2005-2006Ryan Pottruff
2006-2007Ryan Pottruff
2007-08 Brandon Buck
2008-09 Brandon Buck
2009-10 Connor Tresham
2010-11 Tyler Carroll
2011-12 Stephen Gaskin/Kyle Pereira

More News
OHL 20 in 20 Futures Watch: Guelph Storm
19 hours ago
By the Numbers Breakdown of the CHL at World U17 Camp
6 days ago
Clark Hiebert commits to Storm
6 days ago
Tim Hortons and Special Olympics Canada celebrate Global Day of Inclusion
6 days ago
#StormCupTour stops in Burlington and Oakville
6 days ago
CHL Stars We’ll Miss: OHL’s Western Conference
7 days ago